Tral: GDC Tral won the All staff T-20 Cricket championship beating SP College Srinagar by 8 wickets in the final match held on July 07, 2022. The championship was organized by GDC Anantnag.
While winning the toss, GDC Tral decided to bowl first. While bowling, Showket Ahmad Dar took 3 wickets whereas Umar Rashid, Lateef Ahmad Salmani and Lovepreet Singh took 2 wickets each. SP College set the overall target of 165 runs in alloted 20 overs.
While batting, GDC Tral got off to a blistering start and the team chased the target in only 15 overs. From GDC Tral Lovepreet Singh scored unbeaten 84 runs and was adjudged man of the match while as Riyaz Ahmad scored 29 and Aadil Rehman scored unbeaten 10 runs. Umar Rashid, the captain of the team scored a quick fire 29 runs and was also adjudged man of the series for his all-round performance in the series.
GDC TRAL made it to the finals of the championship by beating GDC Dooru, AAAM Degree College Bemina and GDC Shopian in the knockout stage.
While congratulating the team Principal GDC Tral Prof. Mushtaq Ahmad Lone underlined the need for providing opportunities to students and staff to showcase their talent and imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship. He said, all efforts shall be made to provide every kind of facility to the students of the college for nurturing their talents.